Do you remember what life was like before Facebook?
No, me neither. It has taken over every aspect of your life, but what if you want to return to the good old days?
If you have decided that enough is enough and you want to delete your Facebook account, only follow these steps if you want to permanently leave the social media platform. Once you’ve deleted your account it can’t be undone. If you’re only looking to take a break, you can follow Facebook’s instructions about how to deactivate your account.
How to permanently delete your Facebook account
1. Log in to Facebook
2. Download your Facebook data – click the down arrow in the top right hand corner of the screen and select “Settings”. At the bottom of the General Account Settings screen is the link to “download a copy of your Facebook data”.
3. Contact Facebook – they really don’t want you to leave and have therefore buried the request to delete account form deep inside its help pages, but we found it here (you have to enter your password before you can continue).
4. The last bit – next you’ll get a pop-up warning you that deleting your account is a permanent decision and you’ll have to re-enter your password, complete a CAPTCHA and then click “OK”.
5. Cool off – almost there. Once you’ve completed step 4 you’ll get another message that reads:
“Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, you will have the option to cancel your request.”
After clicking “OK” your 14 days starts counting down and then your account will disappear forever along with all your data.